Children, Young People and Education Committee


Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 1 - Senedd




Meeting date:

Thursday, 22 January 2015




Meeting time:

09.15 - 12.01




This meeting can be viewed on Senedd TV at:



Concise Minutes:





Assembly Members:


Ann Jones AM (Chair)

Angela Burns AM

Keith Davies AM

Suzy Davies AM

John Griffiths AM

Aled Roberts AM

Simon Thomas AM








John Grattan, Universities Wales

Amanda Wilkinson, Universities Wales

Dr Greg Walker, ColegauCymru

Jim Bennett, Coleg Gwent

Justin Edwards, CCEA

Anne-Marie Duffy, CCEA

Paul McGlade, OCR

Derek Richardson, Edexcel






Committee Staff:


Gareth Rogers (Second Clerk)

Sarah Bartlett (Deputy Clerk)

Michael Dauncey (Researcher)

Stephen Davies (Legal Adviser)





1    Introductions, apologies and substitutions

The Chair welcomed Members to the meeting.  Apologies were received from David Rees, Lynne Neagle and Bethan Jenkins.  There were no substitutes.




2    Qualifications Wales Bill - Evidence session 4

The Committee heard evidence from Universities Wales and ColegauCymru.


ColegauCymru agreed to provide a note on relative fee levels experienced in comparison to Northern Ireland and Scotland




3    Qualifications Wales Bill - Evidence session 5

The Committee heard evidence from CCEA, OCR and Edexcel.




4    Papers to note

The papers were noted.




4.1  Letter from Professor Dame Sue Bailey - CAMHS in Wales




4.2  Letter from the Chair of the Petitions Committee - P-04-559 Secondary School Awareness of Self-Harm