Concise Minutes - Committee for the Scrutiny of the First Minister

Meeting Venue:

Video Conference via Zoom

Meeting date: Thursday, 16 December 2021

Meeting time: 14.02 - 16.07
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:






Members of the Senedd:

David Rees MS (Chair)

Russell George MS

John Griffiths MS

Llyr Gruffydd MS

Jenny Rathbone MS

Jack Sargeant MS

James Evans MS


Mark Drakeford MS, First Minister of Wales

Reg Kilpatrick, Welsh Government

Judith Paget, Welsh Government

Committee Staff:

Alun Davidson (Clerk)

Aled ap Neill (Deputy Clerk)

Amy Clifton (Researcher)

Bozo Lugonja (Researcher)



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest

The Chair, David Rees MS, welcomed Members and witnesses to the meeting. Apologies were received from Paul Davies MS; James Evans MS substituted for him. There were no declarations of interest.

In accordance with Standing Order 34.19, the Chair stated that the public were excluded from the Committee’s meeting in order to protect public health.



2       COVID-19 recovery and winter pressures on public services

The Committee scrutinised the First Minister on policy relating to the COVID-19 recovery and winter pressures on public services.



3       Ministerial scrutiny session - Topical matters

Members asked the First Minister questions on topical matters.



4       Motion under Standing Order 17.42 to resolve to exclude the public from the meeting for the following business:

The motion was agreed.



5       Discussion of previous evidence sessions

The Committee discussed the evidence from the meeting.





1.          FIELD_TITLE




2.          FIELD_TITLE














2.1          FIELD_TITLE





2.2          FIELD_TITLE