Concise Minutes - Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee

Meeting Venue:

Video Conference via Zoom

Meeting date: Thursday, 4 March 2021

Meeting time: 09.30 - 12.10
This meeting can be viewed
on Senedd TV at:





Members of the Senedd:

Bethan Sayed MS (Chair)

Helen Mary Jones MS

Mick Antoniw MS

John Griffiths MS

Carwyn Jones MS

David Melding MS


Rhodri Talfan Davies, Director, BBC Cymru Wales

Tim Davie, BBC

Elan Closs Stephens, BBC Board Member for Wales

Committee Staff:

Rhys Morgan (Clerk)

Angharad Roche (Deputy Clerk)

Robin Wilkinson (Researcher)



1       Introductions, apologies, substitutions and declarations of interest



2       Annual scrutiny of the BBC

Members asked questions of Tim Davie, Rhodri Talfan Davies and Elan Clos Stephens.



3       Paper(s) to note

Members noted the papers.



3.1   Correspondence from Welsh Government concerning the National Development Framework



3.2   Correspondence with the Minister for Education on the Draft Welsh Government Budget 2021-22



3.3   Correspondence with the Minister for Mental Health, Wellbeing and Welsh Language



4       Motion under Standing Order 17.42 to resolve to exclude the public from the remainder of the meeting

Members agreed the motion.



5       Annual scrutiny of the BBC: discussion of evidence

Members agreed to write to the UK Government on the process for determining the licence fee and to write to the BBC to request further details of representation data for BBC Wales.



6       Inquiry into devolution of broadcasting: discussion of draft report

Members agreed the report.



7       Inquiry into who gets remembered in public spaces: discussion of draft report

Members discussed the draft report and agreed to continue the discussion at the next meeting.





1.          FIELD_TITLE




2.          FIELD_TITLE














2.1          FIELD_TITLE





2.2          FIELD_TITLE