Committee Details

Communities, Equality and Local Government Committee


The Committee was established on 22 June 2011 with a remit to examine legislation and hold the Welsh Government to account by scrutinising expenditure, administration and policy matters encompassing: Wales’s culture; languages communities and heritage, including sport and the arts; local government in Wales, including all housing matters; and equality of opportunity for all.


Transcripts and Correspondence


Current Inquiries


Legislation currently under scrutiny


Forward work programme

The Forward Work Programme sets out the work that the Committee intends to carry out in the following weeks and months.


Future inquiries

The Committee will be undertaking the following work in the future:


Work completed by the Communities, Equality and Local Government Committee


Committee Sub Groups



  • The Committee will complete its consideration of amendments to the Renting Homes (Wales) Bill on 8 October. Amendments tabled to the Bill have been published on the webpage.
  • Stage 3 proceedings on the Local Government (Wales) Bill took place in Plenary on 29 September. The Stage 4 debate is scheduled to take place on 6 October.
  • The Committee has agreed to undertake an inquiry into the BBC Charter Review and has agreed the terms of reference. A call for evidence has been issued.
  • A debate on the Committee’s report into poverty and inequality in Wales will take place in Plenary on Wednesday 14 October.
  • We have decided to review the work we have undertaken since 2011. As part of this legacy work, we will be looking back over our policy and legislation inquiries with a view to assessing the impact of the conclusions and recommendations contained in our various reports.


 Follow us on Twitter: @SeneddCELG


Contact information

Clerk: Sarah Beasley.

Postal address:
National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
CF99 1NA

Phone: 0300 200 6565

Email: SeneddCELG@Assembly.Wales



You are in :

  1. Home
  2. Assembly business

Partners & Help

By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing for us to set a small number of cookies. Cookie policy